Love and Happiness

I lay awake early on this crisp morning of December 1st because one of my dogs peed all over my floor (she’s an older pup). After cleaning the whole ordeal left me feeling tired, but, I noticed that my puppy Scout was eagerly waiting for me back on my bed. I held his little squishy body in a hug for a second before crawling back under the covers. As I sat down I couldn’t help but notice the photograph by my bed with the big bold letters BEST FRIEND and a picture of Raven. And the more I thought  about the nights events the more I thought about the unconditional love of a dog. Here are my thoughts as told from the perspective of a pooch:

HAPPINESS is being curled up by the fire place with human after romping in the snow all day

LOVE is when I must be touching human in someway at night, even if it is just my paw (or I will sit on human’s stomach)

HAPPINESS is when human gives you an unexpected treat (did I do something good?)

LOVE is when there is no room on the couch but I absolutely must be with human so I make room

HAPPINESS is rolling around in the last snowbank of winter when the days start to get warmer

and

LOVE is knowing that this is my family, my forever home and knowing that I will always keep them safe and protect them

Have a good night everyone.

 

Leave a comment